Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Outboards and have a few questions

Hello,

I am new to outboard motors and have a few questions that I can not find answers to.

We have 2005 Key West 2020DC with a Yamaha F150.

The boat came with analog gauges and we bought the Command Link two gauge kit (6Y8-0E83R-91-00). I was told by a dealer who said he checked the numbers of my motor and this kit would plug right into my motor. The motor looks to have a round plug and kit only has square plugs. Is there an adapter that I need to make these gauges work?

I also bought a water pump kit, plugs, filters and fluid. Is there any other maintenance that we should do to the motor? (We are unsure of the hours on the motor) I would rather be safe and replace whatever is needed.

This boat will mostly be in salt water, what is the best way to flush the motor? Do we just connect the hose to the connector on the motor and turn on the water? Does the motor need to run, do we use the motor flusher that we used on our last I/O?

Thanks in advance for the help and here are pictures of my motor.
    Attached Files

Here is the engine connector.

https://www.google.com/search?q=f150...YALkkTqVQXY%3D

Would be helpful if you provided the complete model and serial number for your motor.

All F150's were created equally. Just some are more equal than others.

Comment

Thank you. The white plug that is in my motor has two wires going to it. The wire that I think would go to the plug has 4 wires.

I have attached the numbers of my motor.
      Attached Files

Comment

The white Command Link connector to which the Yamaha harness connects is a four pin connector but only two wires are used. One blue, one white. The Yamaha harness that runs from the motor to a Command Link instrument will have four wires.

According to Yamaha records your specific serial number is not supposed to have Command Link capability.