Resurface block 90 two stroke

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Resurface block 90 two stroke

I'm a shop teacher for a high school. Had a 2003 yamaha that students took apart, one student used a wire brush grinder to clean gasket material form head and block, engine was reassembled and runs, but leaks water between head and block.
    Removed head and can see that block is gouged up around edges. Cylinders look ok, engine has good compression and actually runs ok,....

If engine is disassembled can a machine shop surface block? I've got a oem service manual, but it doesn't show a spec for any material that could be cut from block.....

Originally posted by mackwrench View Post
    I'm a shop teacher for a high school. Had a 2003 yamaha that students took apart, one student used a wire brush grinder to clean gasket material form head and block, engine was reassembled and runs, but leaks water between head and block.
    Removed head and can see that block is gouged up around edges. Cylinders look ok, engine has good compression and actually runs ok,....

If engine is disassembled can a machine shop surface block? I've got a oem service manual, but it doesn't show a spec for any material that could be cut from block.....
    Don't know why you couldn't. There's no belt, intake or exhaust manifold to be concerned about.

It'll bump your compression up some depending on how much take off but those gouges can't be more that .005", no?
    Last edited by TownsendsFJR1300; 06-27-2014, 03:58 PM.
    Scott
    1997 Angler 204, Center Console powered by a 2006 Yamaha F150TXR

Comment

I'd think .005 would clean it up, head will need it as well. The exhaust side cover leaks too, but perhaps that can be remedied with some sealant.....

Comment

Sounds like something I'd do when I was at school 3 years ago....

Comment