Water in lower unit

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Water in lower unit

Ok well I just got back to the states after my quick deployment to the middle east. I decided to do some much needed maintenance and start with chanigin the lower unit oil on my twin 2004 200hp HPDI's. No issues with the stbd motor besides some hair on the mag plug but it was just a little bit. Port motor on the other hand not so good, I pull the plug and it seems as though the plug is defferent (bigger) than the stbd motor, and I get milk out of the lower unit. This is my first time doing the lower unit oil on these motors as I've only had it for a short period of time. I bought all new upper and lower plugs and gaskets but that port drain plug is much different. My question is what could be the culprit letting water in the lower unit and is this something I can fix myself? I was thinking maybe the prop seal or the oil seals under the water pump or shift shaft. What do you guys think??
    1988 259 Grady White Trophy Pro
    Twin 2004 200HP HPDI TXRC

pressure test to see what is leaking, service manual should give specs and procedure. Sounds like someone has modified you plug, it could be the problem

Comment

ALL the plugs have the same thread size,at least from the factory.
      the magnet plug MUST go on the bottom NEVER NEVER EVER in the top.
      could be someone mommiciced it in the past,it happens.
      now its time for a pressure test and possibly a reseal.
      the left hand case is way beyond even the above average do it your selfer.

Comment

Rodbolt, where are you located? I have another issue with the stbd motor rpm's at wot. I'm located in Va Beach and would like to take it to someone that knows what there doing. You say a reseal is beyond the regular do it yourselfer? I was looking at pulling the whole lower unit and repacking the oil seals under the water pump drive shaft and shift shaft.

Comment

located in colington NC. on the outer banks.